Zoloft

I’m so serious right now.

The year & something that my blog was dead, I suffered a grand bit of anxiety and depression. It was lingering under the surface for a while, then the bottom fell out.

I couldn’t get out of bed.

I was late for work eeevvveryday. (Illegal parking saved me).

Sometimes I prayed, sometimes I didn’t.

When I didn’t have to be at work, I got up only to eat or use the bathroom.

But that ain’t the worst part!

People tried to talk me out of it.

“Don’t say you’re depressed.” “You need to stop that.” “We’re not gonna use the D word.” “You’ve got to get ready for marriage; depression is bad for that.”

Thanks! I feel so much better.

The idea that mental illness is not real and is a matter of changing your mind is stupid. It is just the epitome of ignorance.

Don’t ever accept blame from anyone about your mental illness. Never accept the idea that you should SIMPLY change your mind.

I changed my mind and realized how much I was hurting people, AFTER I got help. I went on zoloft for 2 months and saw a therapist. I then started the process of setting boundaries and making good choices. Guess what? Even depressed people have large egos. I’m proof.

Get help. You’ll know when it’s time. No one can make you or tell you when.

Leave a Reply

